S-Lab
PLATINUM SPONSORS
VWR
Romero UK LtdPremier Laboratory Systems

Conference Partners

AUDE

Higher Education Academy

Institute of Physics

IST

 JISC (jisc.jpg)

 Royal Academy of Engineering (royal-academy-of-engineering.png)

RSC (rsc.png)

RSB logo new (rsb-logo-new.png)

Science Council Logo (science-council-logo.jpg)

 

 

Energy and Environment

There are a number of sessions primarily focused on these topics, including:

Closing the Energy Loop: Ensuring that Metering and Monitoring Systems Support Continuous Improvement in Energy Use (with examples from the University of Cambridge).

Saving Energy and Water with User Buy-in in Chemistry and Other Laboratories at the University of Strathclyde.

Fume Cupboard Upgrades at the University of Reading Save £315,000 pa, with a 3 Year Payback.

How to Win Over Researchers and Lessons from Grassroots Green Labs at the University of Chicago.

 An Evidence-Based Approach to Laboratory Ventilation: How Demand- Responsive

Systems Can Improve Safety and Cut Energy by 50%.

Effective, Efficient and Sustainable Laboratories at the Scottish Environment Protection Agency.

Many of the case studies described in the Life Science/Medicine and Chemistry, Engineering and Physical Science sections are also notable for their sustainability features, including:

Learning from Pharma: The GlaxoSmithKline Laboratories for Sustainable Chemistry at The University of Nottingham (the first net zero-carbon lab in the UK).

High Performance Rebirth for Interdisciplinary Research at Cornell’s Kimball Hall (creating a template for sustainable refurbishment of 1960s and 1970s buildings).

The University of Leicester’s Centre for Medicine Building Has Driven Curriculum Change and Research Integration, and is Britain’s Largest Passivhaus Structure.

Maximising Adaptability, Functionality and Sustainability at the Wellcome Wolfson Institute of Experimental Medicine, Queen’s University of Belfast.

One particular Conference theme is laboratory benchmarking, for energy efficiency as well as other aspects. One session presents the results of a study of 121 lab buildings at Harvard, MIT and other Boston institutions carried out for the Boston Green Ribbon Commission, which aims to make the city carbon-neutral by 2050.  This will be followed by a discussion session on UK potential, with participants including pharma companies who have established a working group to study their own research facilities.

Many of the sessions described in the Equipment and Services and Estates and Engineering sections also provide many examples of how to improve energy and environmental performance in labs, through improved equipment and ventilation.

Go here for a flyer and agenda, and here to book your place.

EVENT PLATINUM SPONSOR

Essensys logo (essensys-logo.png)

S-LAB GOLD SPONSORS

AECOM web new (aecom-web-new.jpg)

 

BDP web small (bdp-web-small.jpg)

 

Critical Air Flow

KSG_Genano (ksggenano.jpg) 

 

JISC (jisc.jpg) 

 

Thermofisher (thermofisher.jpg)

 

EVENT GOLD SPONSORS

Eppendorf logo (eppendorf-logo.jpg)

 

 IBI web use (ibi-web-use.jpg)

 

 ISG web (isg-web.jpg) 

 

Perkins +Will (1-perkins-will.jpg)

 

Surrey Research Park (surrey-research-park.png)

 

REGISTRATION DESK SPONSOR

Oxford Innovation (oxford-innovation.jpg)

 

EXHIBITION/NETWORKING AREA SPONSOR

  Halton logo (halton-logo.jpg)

IASP THEATRE SPONSOR

York Science Park (york-science-park.jpg)

 

CONFERENCE BAG SPONSOR

Creative Places (creative-places.jpg)

 

CONFERENCE LANYARD SPONSOR

Net Park (net-park.jpg)

 

AWARD SPONSOR - S-LAB MAKING A DIFFERENCE

 SES Engineering (ses-engineering.jpg)

 

AWARD SPONSOR - MOST SUCCESSFUL COMPANY AT AN UKSPA MEMBER LOCATION

 Innovation BHX (innovation-bhx.jpg)

MEDIA PARTNER

University Business (university-business.jpg) 

MAIN S-LAB FUNDER

 HEFCE (hefce.png)